Sew it Chic October 2016

Sew it Chic first saturdays

September was a great month of makes – I was so impressed! Thank you to everyone who linked up. I even met a new blog – Binding Off, written by Betty. At first glance, I thought it was a knitting blog, and I hate knitting blogs because I can’t knit, and I am incredibly jealous of those who can! But Betty had a very cute dress up there, so I will add her to my bloglovin’ and hope I don’t get too sad when I see her knitting projects.

Did you also notice ( of course you did) Elizabeth linking up so much gorgeousness? It is because she is involved in the Fabric Mart Fashion Challenge! I just had to highlight her beautiful work and get some insight into her process and the competition.

I asked her why she likes competitions and what has it stretched her to do and learn? She said, “I really like competitions because they force me to focus on a specific goal and because they push me to stretch my skills.  I can’t divulge my project for this week, but I will say that I’m dealing with fabric that I’ve always always been afraid to handle before, and I’m kind of enjoying it despite it’s difficulty.”

elizabeth4

Week 1 Sweater Knit Challenge

“I’ve so appreciated having the feedback of the judges.  In the sewing blogosphere people are crazy nice.  I think in the 9 years that I’ve been “out there”, I can count on less than one hand the bad comments I’ve received.  Likewise, it’s not always common to get really a really objective critique that helps you look at your work in a way that makes you grow.  The judges’ comments have at times made me look at things, and say, oh, maybe I can try something different next time.  One of the judges said of my sweater knit skirt that she was glad I thought about the wearability in choosing to line it.  In these last few weeks in the Fabric Mart competition, I don’t think I’ve lined so many garments!  But really, when I think about it, the garments that I actually wear are the lined ones.  I never remember where I put my slips, and I hate how they’re continually twisting and shifting.  I’d rather take the extra time and materials to line a garment than be fussing with wearing it later.  I think that comment will lead me to start stashing lining fabrics.”

Week 2 Trench Coat Challenge

Week 2 Trench Coat Challenge

“The other thing I really like about competitions is that it makes me look at the materials I have and do something different.  The sweater knit challenge was so fun in that respect.  It’s no secret that I have a really distinct color palette and that I’m totally devoted to it.  When I opened the envelope from Fabric Mart with this beautiful sweater knit, I kind of freaked out.  I do not wear any of those colors because they pretty much swallow me up.  But turning the sweater knit to the reverse side really softened things up and it became a design feature that I ran with in the skirt and the sweater.  I loved adding the velvet ribbon on that too.  I’d never worked with ribbon as a design feature, and wow, that stuff was so nice to work with.  Or on the trench coat, I didn’t have enough of the blue linen for the facings, so I used the blue crosshatch print for a funky lapel that’s totally my style.”

“I’m so proud of myself that I finally learned how to properly make a single welt pocket in this competition!  Double welts and zippered welts, I’m pretty well-practiced with, but every single welt that I’ve ever made has just looked not so great before this competion.  When the trench coat week came up, I watched Peggy Sagers do it on one of her webcasts, and gave it a go.  Her advice on construction is always so excellent, and I’m pretty pleased with how my pockets turned out on the coat.  I put them on my sheath dress too just because I could. “
Week 3 Coordinate Collection Challenge

Week 3 Coordinate Collection Challenge

“The pattern hacking has been fun too.  I’ve had that green knit tunic hanging in my sewing room closet for like 2 years, wanting to resize and petite-ify it for me, but I just haven’t had the motivation to do it.  I’m working on another pattern hack this week from another piece of RTW that I’ve had since forever.  It’s good to go after those tiny dream goals!”

Elizabeth made it to the final challenge – “Find your Inner Designer” and I cannot wait to see what she comes up with! Hasn’t she done some amazing work?
Now let’s see what you’ve been up to. Link up this month’s projects below!

[inlinkz_linkup id=667962 mode=1]

2 thoughts on “Sew it Chic October 2016

  1. Thanks for giving a shout out to my blog! I learned to both knit and sew when I was a child but didn’t do much of either for most of my adult years. I took up knitting again about 10 years ago and sewing again about 6 years ago. The good thing about sewing is that it goes a lot faster than knitting, which means you will likely see more postings from me about sewn items than knit ones 🙂

    • It was fun to discover it! That is another thing I don’t know if I could handle about knitting – it takes so long! Haha! Thank you for linking up.

Leave a comment! I love comments!

