Sew it Chic September 2016 (and proudest sewing moments?)

Sew it Chic first saturdays

Well, here we are in September and I’m very excited to see what everyone has been making. I noticed that I only posted once in August, but isn’t August always a busy time of year? I did post an article on Bernina’s We All Sew blog about how inspired I am to use border prints, if you’d like to read it. I also got to takeover the BerninaUSA Instagram last week and shared some behind the scenes at the GrayAllDay world headquarters (my sewing room/podcast room/actual real work office).

Speaking of podcasts, we are still looking for your Proudest Sewing Moment stories! What was your proudest moment in sewing? Maybe you made a complicated dress for your prom? Or maybe you finally mastered a fly zipper? Maybe it was the first garment you sewed all by yourself that you were actually able to wear out in public. Please leave a comment below about your proudest sewing moment, or — even better — leave us a voice mail by calling 401-64MAVEN or recording a message via your computer’s built-in microphone at speakpipe.com/ClothesMakingMavens. We’ll include your stories in our next podcast!

And here is our monthly link up! Let’s see ’em!

[inlinkz_linkup id=660829 mode=1]

One thought on “Sew it Chic September 2016 (and proudest sewing moments?)

  1. Hmm. Proudest sewing moment…that’s a tough one, but I think it’d have to be the tiny double breasted jacket I made for my oldest son when he was about 9 months old. I was a beginning garment sewist, and I’d never made a jacket before, yet somehow I dived into the project without fear sewing a jacket from a Japanese pattern book. I used a reference book to get through the instructions since I don’t read Japanese, and I drafted my own lining in a rust plaid cotton. The outer fabric was grey twill from a really nice Pottery Barn pillow sham, and I had just enough fabric to eek out the whole tiny jacket. The only bummer was the weird seam that was running in a strange place on the hood because I didn’t understand how hoods were put together at the time. I chalked it up to my current experience, though and forgot about my mistake when I saw how absolutely adorable my baby looked in it. I should pull out that pattern again now for my daughter!

Leave a comment! I love comments!

