Simplicity 1158 Border Print Romper

Simplicity Sure, maybe it took me a year to finish this guy, but it was worth the wait. My first romper! I feel very sassy wearing it, and I love saying the word romper and the whole concept of rompers. I am really into wearing shorts right now, so this is a solid move into the zone of wearable but trendy for me. Simplicity 1158 got lost in the move, but it has been found and finished!

Simplicity 1158 crossover backWho is excited about border prints right now? This was one of the first I bought (maybe close to 2 years ago now?) but since then I have been acquiring them like mad. There are so many cute ones out there, and they can give such a custom look to garments. In this case, I used the dark border on the bottom of the shorts, then flipped it over and used the dark up at the neckline to emphasize the halter style. It turned out really cute!Simplicity 1158 jumpsuit

The crossover back is such a clever design detail to make the romper easy to get in and out of. The ties that extend from the neckband thread into casings at the top of the back and you can tie them in a bow. In retrospect, it would have been cuter to have shorter ties so that the crossover detail isn’t hidden, but for you guys I did get a picture while the wind swept the bow to the side.

Simplicity 1158 romperSince completing this romper, I’ve also made another pattern up and I see that a big question with the romper is how to get in and out. The whole thing has to come down over the widest part of your body, so that neckline opening must accommodate it. The crossover plus the threaded casings really allow you open that top part up, so this is definitely a pattern I’d recommend for someone with a wider hip measurement. And the sexy emphasis on the shoulders is great, too!

The neckline has lovely pleats and a beautiful finish that lies really nicely. This fabric is the lightest, floatiest, slipperiest poly something and it was very difficult to work with, but the neckline turned out fantastic. The back diagonal seam facings are supposed to be reinforced with interfacing, but in my floaty fabric that was too much weight. I put it in, saw how it hung, then cut almost all of it out.

Simplicity 1158 necklineI also realized, rather late in the game, that it would be wise to line the shorts. Since I started these while I lived in Washington, a much cooler climate, the floaty fabric might have worked, since I never perspired. But, now that I live in California, my bum and back thighs stick to any and all chairs as soon as I sit in them. I have found myself in the uncomfortable position of peeling my unlined dresses off my backside after sitting down for any length of time. Super classy. So, after the shorts were assembled it occured to me how urgerntly I needed to line the bottom half. I cut another pair of the shorts out of nude rayon lining fabric, sewed them up, and dropped them into the outer ones, wrong sides together, and joined them at the waist seam. All fixed at the last minute and no more sticky buns.

S1158 liningMy biggest piece of advice with rompers is to try them on again and again to make sure the proportion is correct. Specifically the length of the bodice + the length of the shorts rise = perfect. Depending on a longer or shorter bodice, you must consider how it will all hang together, in addition to shorts length. I am tall, so I always add length. To a romper I add to both the bodice and the rise so I have plenty to work with. Then I have to experiment, and this can take some time. It just does, I’m afraid, but I know that was time well spent. Everything here hangs well, with the top blousing gracefully and the shorts smooth, not bunchy.

Simplicity 1158 border print romperGear up to gaze upon my rompers and jumpsuits, my friends, because I’m on a roll now! There is more to come. In the meantime, go ahead and listen to our 4th episode of Clothes Making Mavens where I get to interview one of the most talented (and nicest) people in our sewing community – Lori from Girls in the Garden! And answer our burning question “What was your proudest sewing moment?” by either calling, writing us a message, or leaving me a comment here!

Ep4 Lori V

27 thoughts on “Simplicity 1158 Border Print Romper

  1. I’m not usually much of a romper fan but this one is winning me over! What an absolutely gorgeous way to take advantage of a border print. And you’re right, the proportions are spot on. It’s runway-ready!

    • Thank you, Helene! I thought this romper is such a nice shape compared to some others I’ve seen. The silly drawings on the front of the pattern didn’t help, but anyway, I just had to try it on over and over to get it right.

    • Thank you so much! Rompers are really fun to wear, actually. I thought I’d feel silly but I actually feel chic. It is an all-in-one outfit!

  2. This romper is gorgeous, I love a border print, I like the way you’ve mirrored the top and bottom and the back and neck are fab. You look amazing in it.

  3. I used to own a knit romper (’82?) that I loved wearing to yoga! I could do anything I wanted without a moment’s thought about pulling at my T or pants – they make the best workout clothes honestly. BUT you are right about getting the fit right. The top part of my jumpsuit (romper) could have been a little longer to accommodate my rather generous bust! I too have been accumulating border prints at an alarming rate 🙂 Love them – they offer so much in terms of creative expression. Your romper is gorgeous. Great advice too about lining. I have pants and skirts like that too that have a nasty habit of sticking my lower regions after sitting on them for a while and honestly I HATE THAT!

    • Yes, I think I am in love with this romper concept. You should make a new one to fit you! That is the joy of sewing! I cannot imagine who can fit a romper or jumpsuit out of the box – there are just too many variables.

      Yesterday I went and bought ALL THE LININGS because I am finally coming to terms with the fact that it is necessary in nearly every project.
      Thank you for the comment, Kathleen!

    • Thanks! I think so, too, but it is a pretty cute pattern I might make again, even in a solid color. I like the shape and it is comfy, comfy, comfy!

  4. I listened to the podcast and it was so fun to “get to know” Lori. Thanks for all your hard work producing it and I felt like I was sitting with friends talking about the same love of sewing garments!

  5. You wear this style so well! The halter neckline sits so lovely on you and the tie neck seems really practical! It was so nice to hear Lori’s voice again. I’ve so missed her podcast, and I need to go back and listen to everything again. I’ve learned so much from her, and her voice is so calming to listen to–the perfect thing when you’re struggling with a tricky zip or something like that.

    • She is so much fun to talk to, also. It was just like I knew her forever! I have been going back to listen to them recently, too. This time I’m taking notes!

Leave a comment! I love comments!

