Trying a closer fit with the Seamwork Astoria

FrenchTerryAstoria1I really think it is a good idea to try new styles and shapes. At my age, I can really fall into a rut of styles that I wear constantly. Yes, the wardrobe architect was a helpful exercise, but golly, how hard is it to figure out I like flowy tops, slim pants, shift dresses and wear mostly blues, grays with a bit of pink thrown in?

TealTerry-seamwork-astoria-topSo the Seamwork Astoria is a fun experiment that turned out to surprisingly be a success! I really like this top, and I’ll tell you why – my other snug knit tops all get so tight around my hips and lower belly that they start rolling up and cause me to yank them down every other minute. I hate that. I hate fussing with my clothes in that way. Also, it doesn’t feel great to anyone when their clothes feel too small and their little tummy peeks out like Winnie the Pooh’s.

seamwork-astoria-back-viewSo, even though this top is cropped and I thought I would hate it, the lower band is shaped so the waistline is smaller and the bottom hem flares out a smidge, making it sit so nicely with no riding up! This is a genius innovation, IMO.

TealSeamwork-astoria1I made a size small and did a tiny forward shoulder adjustment. I also lengthened the bodice and sleeves and inch, as usual. My fabric is the world’s softest baby french terry – the stuff dreams are made of. It is a bit drapey to hold the neckline band, but who cares when it feels this yummy?

I wore it with these RTW shorts for pictures because it is too hot for anything else at this point, but it would look lovely with more volume on bottom. Perhaps a skirt or a pair of full culottes would look great. And jeans, always jeans.

seamwork-astoria-outfitJust the facts:

  • Shaped bottom band keeps the Seamwork Astoria sitting correctly, making this cropped top totally wearable
  • French terry is a delight to wear and I must find more
  • Next on my list is a full skirt or culottes to create a totally new shaped outfit for me – I’m glad I’m branching out!

Just a addendum to mention that Episode 2 of Clothes Making Mavens is out. Lauren from Lladybird had such great insights on sewing, teaching and how she’s made some money with her super popular blog. She’s so much fun to listen to!

We have submitted the podcast to iTunes and a bunch of podcast players and are waiting for approval. We’d love to make it easier for you to listen. I’ll let you all know and list our links when that is all set!

 

8 thoughts on “Trying a closer fit with the Seamwork Astoria

  1. I think the hem band really makes this work! I’ve always thought this pattern would be a good cardigan just because of the length. I’ve saved the podcast so I can listen while I sew! The first one was so fun. I totally made and wore a vest made totally out of blue yoyos in 7th grade. It was *ahem* not my best style choice, but I was proud of that one! 🙂

    • It is worth it and such a quick sew! I haven’t worn mine much because it is so warm here at the moment, but I know I’ll be reaching for it a lot in the fall.

  2. Very cute and I have a question about the french terry, does it have any lycra content or is it only cotton. I am asking because I’ve shopped for it online and wondered at the stretch quality. I hope I can listen to the podcast soon, sounds fun!

    • Thanks! I am worthless in the french terry knowledge department. I got my piece from a remnant bin in the LA fashion district and I have no idea on the content, but it felt good, so I bought it! I know buying fabric online is so tricky sometimes.

Leave a comment! I love comments!

