More tulip skirts because sometimes I surprise myself

S2451 skirtPerhaps I should repeat patterns more often. I don’t make patterns again usually because I am so easily distracted by the next thing. My to-sew list is very long! But I decided to whip another S2451 skirt because my first version was completed on the verge of too big and then I lost an inch and a half around my waist, so now it really really is too big. But after wearing that one a couple times I realized how much I love the style! Especially with slightly cropped tops, which I am suddenly obsessed with. The evolution of my style is an ebb and flow of change.

Simplicity patterns 2451 skirtSo this one is a size smaller and I shaped the side seams a little to curve just the way I want them. It fits me like a glove and sits just below my natural waist. In fact, it fits so well that I had to unzip it to nap in yesterday. Gotta get comfy for naptime, you know.

Simplicity 2451 skirtThis version is unlined and serged inside to keep the mid-weight denim manageable for summer. The denim also has a bit of stretch so I reinforced the top of the waistband between the 2 yokes with seam binding so it would stay stable. I am in love with top-stitching with my new BERNINA 350PE, but I could only figure out how to incorporate it around the yoke, hem and up the side seams for reinforcement. I also did a little tack at the pocket to keep that opening stable. You know how I love the pockets on this skirt and they will get used!

denim tulip skirtThis time I made a lapped zipper, which made me a little sad to cover the pretty brass zipper up. But I followed the directions for a change. I added a hook and eye at the top to secure it. It does look neat and tidy, I’ll admit, even though I love an exposed zipper.

sewing tulip skirt patternYay for me, I recently made a S1366 cropped top to wear with it – and I’m sure a tucked in top will be great, too. I’m currently on a cropped top bender, so you’ll be seeing more of them, oh yes! My Liana jeans have more of a mid-rise, too, and it is so comfortable! My tummy isn’t spilling out over my waistband – everything is tucked in place better. I remember very clearly when I started to wear low-rise jeans in high school because I just pierced my belly button and the low rise didn’t irritate it. That piercing is long gone, let me tell you, so let’s bring the waistline up again! It makes me feel so cute and put together.

denim tulip skirt zipperBullet points:

  • Went down a size to make the waistband sit right under the natural waist and it feels great there.
  • This mid-weight denim has nice structure for the shape but I left off lining it so I would stay cooler during the summer.
  • Just a little bit of topstitching. Wish I could have added more, but I couldn’t figure out how to tastefully throw more on!

S2451 denim skirt

14 thoughts on “More tulip skirts because sometimes I surprise myself

  1. This looks great, Helena! I love the skirt. I might just have to copy you…AGAIN. 😉 Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. Perfect skirt! I’m heading out to buy the pattern. and I love how it looks with your Cynthia Rowley top (one of my favorite patterns but who doesn’t love that pattern?)!

  3. I feel just the same way!! I started wearing high-waisted jeans this past fall and I am 100% less likely to rise out them like fresh bread, especially when playing on the ground with kiddos. I love that tulip silhouette! You could always topstitch with a tone-on-tone decorative stitch to scratch that itch (no idea if that’s considered good taste though, ha).

Leave a comment! I love comments!

