Becoming a jeans-making machine

Liana stretch jeans aquaThis is just a quick post about these Liana Stretch jeans I made last week. I was not going to take pictures or post about them because as soon as I got this cheap stretch “denim” under my machine foot, I knew these were not going to be my forever jeans. This fabric is thin and wrinkles like crazy, neither is optimum for jeans.

Itch to Stitch jeansI proceeded on to practice my jeans making skills. I do want to make a stable full of handmade jeans, since I can think of no other article of clothing I wear more. So practical for me. So I pressed on, despite the obvious issues. Some might notice that my yoke seams don’t line up at center back. Normally this would be totally unacceptable, but I knew that these babies were going to be “jeggings” in the sense that I would be wearing a longer top over them, due to the thin fabric, so I left it. Ha!

liana jeans patternI practiced my fly insertion, and it went very well again. The wrinkling there is due to my buttonhole being too close to the center. It is a bummer mistake, but I learned from it, so I’m further down the road to total jeans domination.

Liana jeans from Itch to StitchIt is always a good idea to just baste the pant legs to check fit, since all fabric behaves differently. While I was doing that, I was horrified to see some camel toe action. Ewwww! I almost abandoned them. But since I was practicing, I put on the waistband. I also wanted to see if I should perhaps make fit adjustments to the crotch curve of this pattern before I make 20 more pairs (though my last pair were great!). My idea was to perhaps not pull the waistband as tight as usual, so maybe the jeans would sit down a little lower on my hips and relax in the you-know-where area. That ended up totally working! Just a little extra ease in the waistband was enough.

Handmade stretch jeans 2So now I’m quite pleased with them. Yes, the fabric is not ideal, but I could certainly wear them half tucked with a longer top so my bottom doesn’t feel totally exposed. And man, they are comfy!  Just like leggings, but a tiny bit nicer.

6 thoughts on “Becoming a jeans-making machine

  1. They look great from here (also I love your shoes!). This is my first year participating in Me-Made-May and I have realized that having handmade jeans would make it very easy for me to wear me-made every day! I have been eyeing this pattern (just bought my first Itch To Stitch pattern on Wednesday!). But I’m a little scared. So I will be watching your Liana posts with interest.

  2. Jeans are my new challenge. I have a pair and two pair of jeans shorts cut out… It is so hard to get sewing when I know I have to stop so often to test the fit.

Leave a comment! I love comments!

