Sew it Chic Monthly January

Sew it Chic first saturdaysAh! The clean slate of a new year is intoxicating! Throughout the year I am constantly making goals, revising goals, and working on my good/bad habits, so New Year’s Day is like a Super Holiday to me! My goals and plans get crazy during this special time. Whoo hoo!

But the main thing that I want to work on, online and in life, is to just do it. Jump in and don’t be afraid. Put it out there. I get really excited about my ideas, and then begins the slow descent of talking myself out of them. For example, 3 entire years ago I was really pumped up about starting a podcast. I had been listening to some knitting podcasts that were just basically rambling on about their journey and learning about fiber. I loved it and thought “Why don’t any seamstresses do this? I would love that podcast so hard.” So I did some research, bought some equipment, made plans, lists and goals, and then talked myself out of it. Now there are a bunch of great sewing podcasts out there, and so I especially feel that a simple monologue on my sewing obsessions would be stupid and uninteresting. But if I had done it more than 3 years ago, I would already know if my idea was awful, if I hated it, or if other people would listen to it.

Right now I am consumed by the idea of the capsule wardrobe. I really enjoyed making my wardrobe for the Pattern Review contest last year, and that kind of strategic thinking is so fun. I also follow some fashion blogs where this is mentioned and I wonder how they can look so stylish on a limited amount of clothes? So I started planning one, and thinking about sharing it here on the blog, and immediately I thought this is not what the sewing community wants to see. They don’t care about what I wear everyday and putting together new outfits is not going to be the least bit interesting. Especially if my wardrobe is not entirely handmade. So I totally talked myself out of presenting it on the blog.

But, IRL, I’m still really intrigued. I still want to try it. I’ve still got my list all ready and I rearranged my closet and I made a resolution to get dressed (I work from home, so that is a real resolution! Ha!) in my capsule 4 days a week.I think I will learn a lot from it, be able to plan new pieces to add and sew, and get more comfortable with my style, whatever that turns out to be. So I should just put it up on the blog, take you on the adventure with me, and you can always unfollow me if you hate it. (that would make me so sad, though!)

This hesitancy extends to patterns I don’t feel I’m not ready for (I’ve been sewing for 27 years!) or special fabrics I’m hoarding (I live within an hour of the second largest fabric district in the country! I can always buy more!). I would really like to break this habit in the new year.

So let’s jump into 2016!


 

I can’t wait to see what you’ve all been sewing up this last month! Let’s kick this party off with some rules:

Women’s garments only
Made or blogged in the past month only – to avoid reposts.
The party is open about a month, until the last day of that month.
You don’t have to blog to join in! Link up your Pattern Review, your Kollabora project or even an Instagram pic. I know there are so many lovely things made that we never see because not everyone is crazy enough to blog. I also have one person who emails me the pictures so I can get them up here.

Optional additional ideas:

If you are on a blogging platform that supports links, please link back to http://www.grayallday.com by using the Sew it Chic button in the sidebar, or just a simple mention in the text of your post. That way more people will find the party!
Look around and share a comment or 2 with a neighbor. I don’t mind admitting that I savor blog comments as much as New Year’s Resolutions. They are encouraging and build community.
[inlinkz_linkup id=595617 mode=1]

5 thoughts on “Sew it Chic Monthly January

  1. I would love to see your capsule wardrobe….Please share! I’m also considering my sewing goals for 2016 and would like to be more strategic about my wardrobe so I’d be very interested in posts of that nature.

  2. oh please please please share your capsule wardrobe! I for one would totally want to read this – maybe especially because I’m not the capsule kinda person myself. That makes me even more interested in seeing what others get up to. Plus I always love your looks, so you capsule would be great eye candy, I’m sure.

  3. I’m excited to see how this challenge goes. I always sit down and say I’m going to think about capsules for my wardrobe… more of the Vivienne Files Common Wardrobe style (http://www.theviviennefiles.com/2014/10/the-french-5-piece-of-wardrobe-meets.html), where I imagine still having access to everything, but better understanding how to quickly fit things together or pack things for a quick trip away. I never get around to it though. I always get distracted! It’s fun to hear that you saw it through and came up with a capsule. And, I bet you’re loving that your capsule doesn’t include rain boots and a rain jacket. Good luck!

  4. I love the idea of a capsule wardrobe and have been trying to lean toward that idea in my makes as of late. I would love to see what you come up with and I think its great that you are throwing in some RTW because, truly, many of us simply don’t have the time to crank out a full handmade wardrobe. I feel your pain on saving special fabrics, I have tried to tell myself to just “cut the fabric, cut the fabric!” I am like that with different sewing challenges I’ve never tried telling myself “you’ll mess it up” with one side of my brain and “oh go ahead, the whole point is to learn a new skill!” So I say go for it- will love to follow along!

Leave a comment! I love comments!

