Sew it Chic in a Week #18

Light Chic

Another week has flown by as I play catch-up from my trip. Doesn’t it seem like you spend nearly a week preparing for your trip by planning, completing projects, packing, cleaning your house…then you go on your trip. Fun! Then it takes another week of recovery by doing laundry, work, and family responsibilities? I am just now calming down enough to sit at my sewing machine again.

fabricfromLA1

Peek at my fabric haul!

FabricfromLA2Right now I am muslining some patterns so I can sew up my beautiful new fabric from LA. I am also muslining up a new dress design. Don’t hold your breath for that one, folks, since I am the slowest designer ever.  But in my head it is cute and just what I want to wear all summer. Yes, I know, I should get a move on if I want to wear it for even a portion of this summer. Maybe it will be ready for my Australian and New Zealand friends?

 


barbarajane1This week’s featured seamstress is the talented Barbara from barbarajanemade.com. Last week she shared a sleek and stunning Vogue 1399 peplum dress which everyone loved! Here are her answers to our probing seamstress questions…

What’s your motivation to sew?
I sew as a creative outlet. I used to paint and draw, now I sew, and sew. I love the colour, fabric and the magic of creating something new. I also love that I get to wear clothes that fit, in colours I like, in fabrics I probably couldn’t afford in ready-to-wear clothes. I also enjoy being part of the sewing blogging community, have met some lovely people and I am always inspired and learning something.
BarbaraJane2
My favorite thing about sewing?
I like that I’m always learning and improving my skills. I like planning and dreaming about my next make. My imaginery sewing list is so long.
My least favorite thing about sewing?
I think it’s putting together pdf patterns and then storing them. Though I’ve just figured out a solution to this, so something I’ve learnt recently about sewing is, to trace the pdfs to vilene. They are then easy to store rolled up in cardboard tubes. A vilene pattern can be written on, is strong and is also easy to use, often not even needing pattern weights.
Thanks for hosting this link-up Helena and happy stitching everyone.

Since I have time to really peruse the entries this week I am anxious to get started! Here are the short and sweet rules for the link up party:

  • Women’s garments only
  • Made or blogged in the past week only – to avoid reposts.
  • The party is open for a week, until next Friday, and I’ll open a new one Saturday. Feel free to link up every once in a while or try to complete a garment every week!
  • You don’t have to blog to join in! Link up your Pattern Review, your Kollabora project or even an Instagram pic. I know there are so many lovely things made that we never see because not everyone is crazy enough to blog. I also have one person who emails me the pictures so I can get them up here.

Optional additional ideas:

  • If you are on a blogging platform that supports links, please link back to http://www.grayallday.com by using the Sew it Chic in a Week button in the sidebar, or just a simple mention in the text of your post. That way more people will find the party!
  • Look around and share a comment or 2 with a neighbor. I don’t mind admitting that I savor blog comments as much as a fun-filled vacation. They are encouraging and build community.

[inlinkz_linkup id=533453 mode=1]

4 thoughts on “Sew it Chic in a Week #18

  1. I so agree with you about the disruption of travelling on your regular routines! Glad you’re starting to get sorted again.

    I really enjoyed Barbara’s answers too — exactly my thoughts, in many ways.

    • Yes, using sewing as a creative outlet really resonated with me, too. And putting together PDFs is the pits! Ha!

Leave a comment! I love comments!

