Sew it Chic in a Week #13

Light ChicWell, thank you for allowing me to air my dirty laundry of fabric hoarding with you, and get some commiseration from my sewing peeps! I loved seeing other sewing spaces and stashes! That link up is still open, so if you didn’t get around to it yet, you can still participate. My husband was certain that there could not possibly be any other living soul out there with more fabric than me, and while I didn’t see anyone with more fabric, I did see a lot of fabric! It was fun and it was good to show my husband that I’m not totally crazy. Just a slightly crazy.

I sewed a bunch this week and have a few things almost done or waiting to be photographed. I also did a really fun thing this week — I dropped everything on Thursday and made my daughter a dress for her school concert that night. I took some pictures and will share them next week, but the point is that I went to bed that night thinking “What a fun thing to just sew as the mood strikes me.” I had the idea, sewed it up that day, and she wore it that night and looked adorable. Do you guys ever do that? Just take a break from your scheduled stuff and sew?


At our last Sew it Chic in a Week, Chris from Said & Done shared the most lovely and inspiring floral pique dress and got so many clicks! So I invited her to show off more of her work and tell us about her sewing thoughts.

Said and done1What is your motivation to sew?
I’ve always liked making things, be it sewing, knitting or more labour intensive stuff such as landscaping the garden. In the rest of my life, as a mother, homemaker and teacher, much of my work is centered around words and thought processes, and the result of my work is often transient (what does that kitchen look like 30 minutes after you have tidied it ??!!) or far away (Will those kids grow up to be nice people who are happy in themselves and contribute to the world? Will those students manage to pass their finals with flying colours?)
Sewing gives me immediate results. They maybe good or bad, but the feedback a finished item of clothing gives me is something I really enjoy in the sewing process.
That’s the philosophical answer. But of course it’s just fun to have clothing that nobody else has.

What is your favorite thing about sewing?
Ooops, some of that is in the answer above. Also, my life is quite busy and can be quite noisy. When I’m in the sewing room I get me time and peace and quiet – until I start shouting at that button hole function ;-).
What I really love doing is top-stitching. I get quite excited about that.
Also making jeans, because people in the non-sewing world never can believe that you can make your own jeans. Lots of street cred in that count!

Said and done2What is your least favorite thing about sewing?
Button holes, definitely. But also applying iron-on interfacing. Yuck, I really hate that. Yes, interfacing comes in at the top, before button holes.

What is the most recent thing you’ve learned about sewing?
I’m starting to learn more about fit and making small alterations to patterns. I work with Burdastyle patterns almost exclusively and their blocks tend to fit me without many changes. But the more I learn about fit and the less laissez-faire I become about little fit issues the better I try to understand how to alter those patterns.

 


I hope there are a bunch of fun garments to share since you had 2 weeks to sew it up! Here is just a quick run down of the rules again:

Women’s garments only
Made or blogged in the past 2 weeks only – to avoid reposts.
The party is open for a week, until next Friday, and I’ll open a new one Saturday. Feel free to link up every once in a while or try to complete a garment every week!
Optional additional ideas:

If you are on a blogging platform that supports links, please link back to http://www.grayallday.com by using the Sew it Chic in a Week button in the sidebar, or just a simple mention in the text of your post. That way more people will find the party!
Look around and share a comment or 2 with a neighbor. I don’t mind admitting that I savor blog comments as the rare, spontaneous sewing session. They are encouraging and build community.
[inlinkz_linkup id=522028 mode=1]

2 thoughts on “Sew it Chic in a Week #13

Leave a comment! I love comments!

