Sew it Chic in a Week #12

Light ChicSpring has truly sprung here in the state of Washington, so we have had lots of rain interspersed with lovely sun. Thursday was the first day of the year that we dined alfresco! And I’ve started dressing in a less layered style – how fun! Changing seasons are always so invigorating for my wardrobe. I’m looking forward to wearing old warm weather favorites, making lots of new items, and buying just a few new things (shoes and maybe a hat?).

IMG_9757Sewing-wise I spent the week making doll clothes with my 10 year old. Shwin and Shwin posted a free pattern for an American Girl doll Frozen inspired Elsa dress and we’ve been making 4 copies – one for each daughter and 2 for friends. It has been so fun sewing with her and she adores it so much! And it is not so serious, since we are just making doll clothes. I can get pretty stressed out about my sewing projects sometimes, even though this is supposed to be my relaxing hobby. So it was fun to take a break! But next week I should have 2 garment projects done. That will be a first for this snail of a seamstress!


Lady Sewalot1Our last link up party was a wonderful group of projects and brought Lauren from Lady Sewalot to my attention. She posted a lovely purple cardigan that everyone clicked on! So I asked her to answer some questions.  Here they are:

1. What is your motivation to sew?
Still being at school, I have pretty much no disposable income so sewing for myself is the only way I have new clothes. Sewing is a great creative outlet that really kills 2 birds with one stone as I can wear my creations for years after I’ve made them. It’s definitely more productive and more fulfilling than watching TV! Next year I’m going to uni to do a degree in Costume Construction. I’m super excited to be sewing costumes all day and every day!

2. What is your favorite thing about sewing?
My favourite thing about sewing is the total freedom you get when making your own clothing. With a sloper, the world is literally at your fingertips! You can mix and match the right fabric to the right pattern to express yourself as an individual in a way that I struggle to do with ready to wear clothes. Through making my own clothes, I’ve learnt that I love full skirted dresses, and simple designs with an interesting and unique design detail which can never be found in stores. I also love having clothing that fits my body and my personality.

Lady Sewalot23. What is your least favorite thing about sewing?
I think my least favourite thing about sewing is the steps at the end of the project where the main body of the garment is done. My ‘vision’ has been realised and I’m raring to wear it already, but those little things have to be done (like hemming) before I can wear it. I wish I had a hemming robot to do my hemming for me!

4. What is the most recent thing you’ve learned about sewing?
Shortcuts are not a good idea. They usually lead to mistakes or a quality I’m not happy with, so have to be re-done, taking more time and work than if I’d just done it properly in the first place!


 

What do you have to link up this week, my friends? Here is just a quick run down of those little rules again:

Women’s garments only
Made or blogged in the past week only – to avoid reposts.
The party is open for a week, until next Friday, and I’ll open a new one Saturday. Feel free to link up every once in a while or try to complete a garment every week!
Optional additional ideas:

If you are on a blogging platform that supports links, please link back to http://www.grayallday.com by using the Sew it Chic in a Week button in the sidebar, or just a simple mention in the text of your post. That way more people will find the party!
Look around and share a comment or 2 with a neighbor. I don’t mind admitting that I savor blog comments as much as eating outside in the fresh air. They are encouraging and build community.

[inlinkz_linkup id=517332 mode=1]

2 thoughts on “Sew it Chic in a Week #12

  1. They’re letting it go! That’s a lot of work for so many tiny bodies, but it’s good to take a break every now and then with some simple sewing. I’m looking forward to your garments next week!

Leave a comment! I love comments!

