Sew it Chic in a Week #11

Light Chic

What a great week of contributions at the link up! Really amazing stuff last week, I was so impressed. Thank you all, and I’m bursting with inspiration!

But I can’t get distracted by the next shiny project. I have to stay focused on my wardrobe contest entry. Even though I only have one item done, I have started 2 others and am still waffling about the last Sewist’s Choice piece. I just got a bunch of new patterns and I keep thinking maybe I should change my plans! Or I should make a new plan! Or I should make extra garments! What, am I crazy? It is fun to contemplate, though.


 

Cookin and Craftin1 This week I would like to introduce you to Meg from Cookin’ and Craftin’, whose Maya top was the most clicked item of last week’s link up. I love the beautiful printed challis she chose. If I had a length of that lovely fabric that is exactly what I’d make! She graciously answered some questions about her sewing process so we can get to know her better.

What is your motivation to sew? 
I’ve always enjoyed making things, but for some reason, I find sewing to be deeply satisfying. I love being able to envision something in my head, sew it up and wear it the next day. Sewing is also very relaxing for me. Except cutting into the fabric: that is so stressful for some reason!
What is your favorite thing about sewing?
I love how it uses both sides of my brain. It requires creativity but also technical skills and math.

Cookin and Craftin2

What is your least favorite thing about sewing? 
This is sad, but I don’t really love hand sewing. I am really bad at it. I want to get better, though!
What is the most recent thing you’ve learned about sewing?
Patience! I don’t necessarily always adhere to the rule, but in most case, patience really wins out over rushing it as far as sewing goes.
Thank you, Meg! What lovely projects you have shared with us and it is fun to hear your thoughts on the process.

And now for our 11th link up! Take it away, ladies! But first, in case this is your first time, here are the rules:

  1. Women’s garments only
  2. Made or blogged in the past week only – to avoid reposts.
  3. The party is open for a week, until next Friday, and I’ll open a new one Saturday. Feel free to link up every once in a while or try to complete a garment every week!

Optional additional ideas:

  1. If you are on a blogging platform that supports links, please link back to http://www.grayallday.com by using the Sew it Chic in a Week button in the sidebar, or just a simple mention in the text of your post. That way more people will find the party!
  2. Look around and share a comment or 2 with a neighbor. I don’t mind admitting that I savor blog comments as much as waking up to coffee on my bedside table. They are encouraging and build community.

[inlinkz_linkup id=515057 mode=1]

3 thoughts on “Sew it Chic in a Week #11

Leave a comment! I love comments!

