Sew it Chic in a Week #9

Light Chic

Sally

Sally’s Cascade Duffle Coat

We had such amazing projects linked up from a wonderful variety of seamstresses this last week, and in all the excitement of my new puppy (eek!) I forgot to contact any of them for an interview. Sorry about that! We did have a talented first timer link up: Sally doesn’t have a blog and didn’t know how to link up, so she wrote up her first review on Pattern Review to show off her beautiful Cascade coat that she modified. It is a very special project!

Coconut

Coconut

You all know that I love my Pattern Review contests, and went through the crazy fun ride of the Sewing Bee last year. I guess I didn’t learn my lesson because I am planning on entering their upcoming Wardrobe contest. It involves making 8 items in 6 weeks; 4 tops, 3 bottoms and 1 free choice. And actually 1 more item that can be purchased or previously sewn. The key is they must all coordinate and ALL tops must match ALL bottoms. This has been a fun puzzle to ponder for the past few days, especially while waiting around for my puppy to potty so I can give him a treat. Ha!

As long as I keep in the blue/gray/white family of colors, I have plenty of fabric in stash for this. I also think this may give me a push to make those more simple, wearable items I like to have but don’t like to sew. I really like to wear the clothes I made myself everyday, but I’m not always up for getting so fancy. And yet I don’t really sew T-shirts. Last year I planned to do something like this with my Gear up for Me Made May plan, but didn’t get it all finished. Oops. But this year I will be wearing these pieces all through May and beyond!

I’d love to see you link up items if you are also entering the contest! Wouldn’t that be fun?


 

Now for the link up rules: 

  1. Women’s garments only
  2. Made or blogged in the past week only – to avoid reposts.
  3. The party is open for a week, until next Friday, and I’ll open a new one Saturday. Feel free to link up every once in a while or try to complete a garment every week!

Optional additional ideas:

  1. If you are on a blogging platform that supports links, please link back to http://www.grayallday.com by using the Sew it Chic in a Week button in the sidebar, or just a simple mention in the text of your post. That way more people will find the party!
  2. Look around and share a comment or 2 with a neighbor. I don’t mind admitting that I savor blog comments as much as new puppy kisses. They are encouraging and build community.

[inlinkz_linkup id=510224 mode=1]

2 thoughts on “Sew it Chic in a Week #9

Leave a comment! I love comments!

