Sew it Chic in a Week #8

Light Chic

This week has flown by and it is time once again to share the garments we have sewn up. Yay! If you saw the caliber and attention to detail of the links last week, I was not surprised that there were only a few. If everyone is working on projects like that, you certainly can’t post every week! It was astonishing.

So, I love sewing, and I love pattern designing, but besides those 2 glorious past times I also have a job. I really like my job, and I’m not complaining, but I have been in a bit of denial about how much time it takes up. I work from home and structure my time at will; I also bill my hours as needed. I am not a “full time employee” but I do need to get the projects done that I am assigned. I’ve been getting by without working full time hours until recently. My work load has increased steadily until now there is no denying it. I really work full time!

I’m glad I made that obvious discovery, though, because I think it is going to force me into structuring my time more wisely. If I am determined to fit in the sewing I want to do and the designing I long to do (and the parenting I have to do, and the marathon training I’m crazy for doing) I have begun to schedule my time into “periods” like in school. My work sessions are a bit longer than a class would be, but I do and must take a break in the middle of the day to refresh. That break will be sewing time. And then there are the glorious evenings where sewing time stretches out in front of me. Some of that I will use for designing.

Of course I wonder how everyone else structures their sewing time, too. I might make that a question in the next Sew it Chic feature. Is that of interest to others?

Now we turn to our featured seamstress: Geni! Last week everyone was excited to see her leopard trench, a perfect spring piece! She doesn’t keep her blog up, since she prefers to sew durin gher free time, so here is a link to her Pattern Review page.

Genisewfeature1What is your motivation to sew?
There are several things that motivate me to sew.
1. Creative outlet:  I am a Registered Nurse and need an outlet to burn off some of the stressful energy that often builds up, but more importantly it allows me to refill my bucket so to speak.  I have always had a creative spirit and it has been useful over the years when budgets were tight.  This leads me to my next…
2. Financial savings:  Yes, I spend and have spent quite a bit of money on my sewing, however when you open my closet…it looks like I spend thousands on clothes!  I have several favorite patterns, aka “TNT” that I have made up multiple times which saves money.  I love to have multiple jackets for different occasions, but they are very pricey and generally change from season to season. But sewing for myself, I can make up what I want for the long haul…or short, whatever I choose.
3. One hole that I always had in my wardrobe were tops.  I never could find tops in the stores that fit my style.  I don’t necessarily like to be in the trendy crowd so shopping was always a chore.  Now that I sew…and A LOT, I have more tops than I could have ever imagined I would have.
4. Someone to sew for: My husband is more than supportive of my art and loves to wear things I make for him.
5. Fit! I have learned over the years to ignore the printed size on the pattern and revel in how something that fits me just right actually can make me appear smaller than I look in something that is either too tight or too loose.
GeniSewfeature2What is your favorite thing about sewing? So many things are my favorite, but if I had to choose one thing its that I love the details.  This has not always been the case. My mother always harped on me to press every seam after sewing it….press press press.  Ugh!  Now I love pressing because the finished garment shows in the quality.  I like to challenge myself to do topstitching perfectly.
What is your least favorite thing about sewing? Not very much…lol!  I guess when I make something and it just isnt working.  Its hard to throw away something that has taken so much energy.
What is the most recent thing you’ve learned about sewing? I have recently learned how to make a bra.  I have taken thousands of hours of classes mostly through Craftsy and bra making is one of the most recent.  Still a long way to go, but I’ve started.  Oh and I just started a class on pattern making for a pant sloper.  I am really excited to actually start…I have asked my Mom to be my model 😉

Here are a few simple rules for linking to Sew it Chic:

  1. Women’s garments only
  2. Made or blogged in the past week only – to avoid reposts.
  3. The party is open for a week, until next Friday, and I’ll open a new one Saturday. Feel free to link up every once in a while or try to complete a garment every week!

Optional additional ideas:

  1. If you are on a blogging platform that supports links, please link back to http://www.grayallday.com by using the Sew it Chic in a Week button in the sidebar, or just a simple mention in the text of your post. That way more people will find the party!
  2. Look around and share a comment or 2 with a neighbor. I don’t mind admitting that I savor blog comments as much as finding real wool at the thrift store. They are encouraging and build community.

[inlinkz_linkup id=508143 mode=1]

6 thoughts on “Sew it Chic in a Week #8

    • Hi Amy, that would be great if you linked up! The button code is in the sidebar in the special code holder. If I paste it here, it will just show up as the button because the site will read the HTML! Ha! Right under the Tags list and search field.

Leave a comment! I love comments!

