Sew it Chic in a Week #7

 

Light Chic

What a week! I released my second pattern (in case you hadn’t heard). The Athena Top is a easy, cute top that can easily be made in an afternoon — maybe for next week’s Sew it Chic feature? Ha!

Needless to say, putting the finishing touches on that took my entire week (actually it has taken the entire month) so I have nothing to link up quite yet. But I expect that many of you do, and I can’t wait to see them!

This week’s featured seamstress is Ali of Thimberlina. Her Osaka wrap skirt was much admired this past week. And then – she posted another lovely garment – her Athena top! She was one of my helpful testers, so she had a headstart.  And didn’t the top turn out great? Roar! Here’s what she had to say on her sewing journey-

What is your motivation to sew?

When I first started sewing I was in my late teens and working in an office. I wanted clothes better than I could afford so borrowed my mums old brother. I was really into in and my parents bought me an Overlocker for my 21st birthday(it’s still going strong!).  I sewed on and off over the years. I made my bridesmaids dresses when I married and all the soft furnishings for my sons nursery in 2002. From then until June ’13 the machine only came out for alterations. Then one of my golfing buddies started turning up on the golf course looking fab in outfits she’d made and really inspired me to dust off my machine and get back into it.  Now I can’t stop, last year I took part in Goodbye Valentino’s RTW fast, and now I can’t imagine shopping for clothes.  I’ve not signed up for this years fast officially but I’m going to try and make as much as I can.

What is your favorite thing about sewing?

Being able to wear something that I know no one else has!  And the company comments from friends – ‘no! You didn’t make that’!

What is your least favorite thing about sewing?

The least favourite is tidying up afterwards, but the hardest thing I find to do is actually choosing what to make.  I’m hooked on reading blogs and have more inspiration, fabric and patterns than I know what to do with!  But once I’ve made my mind up I don’t stop until it’s finished and it takes my life over, until the next project!

What is the most recent thing you’ve learned about sewing?

I’m currently learning how to quilt on a Craftsy class.    I’m hoping to start my first proper quilt next week as my supplies were delivered this week and I’m raring to go!

 


And now for our link up party-

Let’s read the rules again for fun:

  1. Women’s garments only
  2. Made or blogged in the past week only – to avoid reposts.
  3. The party is open for a week, until next Friday, and I’ll open a new one Saturday. Feel free to link up every once in a while or try to complete a garment every week!

Optional additional ideas:

  1. If you are on a blogging platform that supports links, please link back to http://www.grayallday.com by using the Sew it Chic in a Week button in the sidebar, or just a simple mention in the text of your post. That way more people will find the party!
  2. Look around and share a comment or 2 with a neighbor. I don’t mind admitting that I savor blog comments as much as finding real wool at the thrift store. They are encouraging and build community.

An InLinkz Link-up

[inlinkz_linkup id=505925 mode=1]

Leave a comment! I love comments!

