Sew it Chic in a Week #5

Light Chic

I hope you all have had a wonderful week! I have had a busy one. So busy, in fact, that my dress has been done but languishes, unblogged, in sadness. It is done, pictures are even taken, so you will see it very soon. Very soon!

I did get to take a moment to learn more about the seamstress that got the most clicks during last week’s link up — Allie, who blogs at Miss Allie Mass! Here is what she said about her love of sewing:

Allie2Allie3My motivation for sewing: Sewing is my creative outlet! It allows me to wear the clothes I really want to wear, as opposed to what the stores are selling. If I want a closet filled with fifties-style dresses, I can make that happen! I also love using vintage patterns; interpreting decades-old looks to fit me and my lifestyle.
Favorite thing about sewing: I love finding inspiration from vintage patterns. I browse etsy constantly for patterns and vintage clothing, not to purchase, just to steal ideas from. Transforming an idea into an outfit is always magic.
Least favorite: I think everyone’s least favorite thing is spending hours working on something and then having it not turn out as you imagined. I also hate sewing to a deadline! I end up doing this all the time but it’s always a terrible idea.
What I’ve learned recently: I’m currently working on an unlined black lace crop jacket which is quite possibly the most tedious thing I have ever done. It’s all hand sewn! I read Susan Khalje’s book on bridal couture and I’m using her technique for sewing lace so that it looks seamless. Plus, I’m sewing it on a timeline, of course. I’m wearing it tomorrow to an event, so I really have to see on that other sleeve!


And now for our fun link up.

A  reminder of the very simple rules:

  1. Women’s garments only
  2. Made or blogged in the past week only – to avoid reposts.
  3. The party is open for a week, until next Friday, and I’ll open a new one Saturday. Feel free to link up every once in a while or try to complete a garment every week!

Optional additional ideas:

  1. If you are on a blogging platform that supports links, please link back to http://www.grayallday.com by using the Sew it Chic in a Week button in the sidebar, or just a simple mention in the text of your post. That way more people will find the party!
  2. Look around and share a comment or 2 with a neighbor. I don’t mind admitting that I savor blog comments as much as Girl Scout cookies. They are encouraging and build community.

//static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js?v=116

10 thoughts on “Sew it Chic in a Week #5

    • I know, I kind of need some shimmery sweatpants now, too. That would really elevate my sweatpants game! No bra for us this week, Ginny? I look forward to what you sew up next, they have all been beautiful so far.

      • No bra this week Helena and I’m suffering from lingerie sewing withdrawal LOL. My hubby and I took a little trip to Oregon, which was fun but sure cut into my sewing time :D.

Leave a comment! I love comments!

