Announcing the Sandpoint Top!

Line drawingI am elated, terrified and proud to show you my first pattern, the Sandpoint Top. It is a loose fitting, deep V T-shirt with a surprise cowl in the back. Actually, it can be worn either way, with the cowl in the back or the front, by slipping the band behind the neck. Try it both ways to see which way you like best! The V front and armholes have a band finish, while the cowl drapes freely and in a lightweight knit needs no finishing. I will walk you through the steps to create a banded V-neck, but other than that little part, the construction is quick and easy!

Sandpoint-Top2aSandpointTopBackBandMy vision for starting GrayDay Patterns is to create unique, modern patterns that are easy to incorporate into your wardrobe and actually wear! I know we all have special items we’ve made that hang in our closets and we don’t dare touch. They are either too fancy or not comfortable or not easy to wear. What a shame! I hope to help you make some fun clothes that you love to wear, but that are unique and stylish enough that you just might get asked, “Where did you get that great piece?”

SandpointTopBandThis pattern is being entered in The Monthly Stitch Project Indie competition. I am so excited to have the opportunity to enter it there and get feedback. Here is the interview they featured of me, for your viewing pleasure. And it is a voting competition, so head on over and cast your votes here. I value all your opinions, and this has not been pattern tested yet, so if you have any thoughts or advice, write a comment or email me! If you’d like to be a pattern tester, please let me know. There are so many more details to attend to, I don’t quite have a timeline set up for all that (maybe September?), but if you would like to help, I am so grateful! Thanks!SandpointTopSide

 

24 thoughts on “Announcing the Sandpoint Top!

  1. Pingback: Seattle Sewing Saturday Success | Sew Well

  2. Your top looks fabulous – I’d love to be a pattern tester. I enjoy sewing new patterns – variety is the spice if life!

Leave a comment! I love comments!

