Happy Valentine’s to me! The Liebster Award

20140428-101225Thanks to Jen from My Sewing Suite, I got nominated for this little award that helps promote new blogs. That is so super nice! Then, before I could get my act together and write up this post, the sweetie over at Dressing The Role also nominated me! That means it took longer to write this post than is excusable, but I enjoyed it so much and I really appreciate the nominations!

Here is the protocol:
You must answer the 11 questions set by the blogger who nominated you.
You yourself then pick blogs who in turn have under 200 followers.
You must then think of 11 questions for the blogs you have picked and also tell them. (I did not do that, because Jen and Dressing the Role’s questions were great. Just answer them!)
You must link back to the blog that nominated you.

Questions posed by Jen:
1.  What is your favorite thing that you have sewn or knit? Usually my favorite is the most recently completed, but actually I am still really proud of my Peacock Chiffon Dress for Project Sewn. I wish I could wear it more often, I always get compliments!
2. What sewing tool do you use most? I love my rotary cutter, and now I have a rotary blade sharpener, so I am even more in love with my rotary cutter.
3. Why do you sew? I love clothes, I love fashion, and I love the process of making clothes. It is kind of architectural and engineering and detail-oriented. Oh, and in the end I have new clothes to wear, too!
4. What Style icon inspires you? Carrie from Sex in the City does a great job of mixing things up and wearing statements well.
5. What is your favorite fictional character? Maybe Anne of Green Gables. I loved Laura Ingalls so much when I was younger, but Anne has a spunkier attitude that is compelling.
6. What is your guiltiest pleasure? Graham crackers and milk. I also love to stay in bed gratuitously and I make my family bring me things to my bed.
7. What are you most proud of? My family (cliche, but true). I think it is great how we love to spend time together. We can’t get enough of it! My husband and I both work from home so we are with each other 24/7, and then our kids get home and we just all want to be together even more.
8. Cat or dog? Cat, but husband is allergic, so no furry creatures in this household. I only vacuum once a week!
9. Why do you blog? This is a tricky question…I debated starting a blog for a loooonnnng time. Why do I feel compelled to put my stuff out there? I do this for myself only. But what it came down to is a kind of a motivational and accountability process. It helps keep me focused, it keeps my level of workmanship to a certain level, and it is a new skill to conquer. What I didn’t realize is people in this community are so nice and supportive, it has been so amazing. What a pleasant surprise!
10. If you could choose any super power what would it be? ( I know this is copying, but I thought it was a fun one). Flying (I hate driving, and I love traveling!)
11. Describe yourself in 3-5 words. Creative, Driven and Hungry.

Questions posed by DressingTheRole:

1. When did you start sewing? Before I can remember. My mother is a professional seamstress, so I just always sewed.
2. What is your favorite pattern? I rarely make a pattern twice, since I just have so many things I want to try. But right now, my favorite pattern is the one I am working on drafting for myself! I hope I can share it soon!
3. Do you have your own sewing space? I happen to have the most beautiful room in the house as my sewing room.I seriously lucked out! Would you like a tour?
4. Do you do other types of crafting (knitting, crocheting, card making, etc)? I like to do crafts with my kids, and I crochet a little bit. I wish I could knit!
5. How do you balance sewing with work and family? Since my sewing room is off the main family room I can go in there and sew and still know what is going on. As for work, I work from home part time, so my sewing time is directly affected by how much variable work I have. I like to think “Yay! I don’t have much work so I have extra time to sew!” or “Yay! I have a bunch of work so I’ll have extra money for fabric!”
6. What are some of your sewing strengths? I’m getting better at planning…not just the materials but the finishes and construction steps. I like to figure out how to put things together myself, so the engineering part is fun. I also very skilled at buying fabric!
7. What are some of your sewing goals – new skills, different patterns, etc? Jackets! I want to figure out jackets and feel confident. I have the saddest jacket sitting on my dressform mocking me right now. It did NOT turn out well. Jackets are an amazing art form. And also, I’m always cold so I just want to wear them!
8. Do you tend to sew with a plan, or do you wait until inspiration hits you and run with it? I plan, plan, plan. I sit in my room and pull out my fabrics and patterns and plan. I have way more plans than hours, that is for sure!
9. How often do you sew, and for how long? I sew at least 5 days a week and I sew for at least an hour each day. But Sunday is called “Sew Sunday” at my house and I sometimes sew 4-6 that day!
10. What project are you the most proud of? I am most proud of my first jacket. I followed the Sew Better, Sew Faster Craftsy class and my construction was flawless. I also made an entire muslin jacket before that to try out every single technique. It took A LONG time.
11. What project are you least happy with? My seriously wooly skirt is a disappointment because of construction issues, fit issues, the waistband doesn’t stay flat and the fabric was a beast. But I still wear it, because it is comfy and I just throw a big sweater over it to hide its flaws!

Here are my favorite smaller blogs that I feel deserve some recognition. They are all such talented women!

Books and Bobbins is a fun blog. Reading and sewing are my 2 favorite things, too!
Mingo and Grace has such an amazing style, photos to die for, and her kids are beyond adorable.
Dotta Sews is worth translating from the Italian. But even if you don’t translate it, her workmanship is universal.
That’s Sew Julie happens to be my cousin, but even if she wasn’t I would be impressed with her beautiful quilts and her productivity with 5 kids!
Sew Pomona makes great garments and even dyes her own fabric!
I love The Tell TaleTasha‘s style.
Cup and Penny lets you dive right into her construction.

Again I want to say thank you to My Sewing Suite and Dressing the Role for nominating me and apologize that it has taken me this long to write this post up. I love how supportive everyone in the sewing community is. Isn’t it amazing?

2 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s to me! The Liebster Award

Leave a comment! I love comments!

