Gear Up for Me Made May ’14 Project

button200x200I love a big project. Isn’t it fun to plan and work on a complex and multi-faceted project? The bigger the project, the more rewarding it is to me. That’s why I train for marathons! When the scope of my goal is expansive, I get excited, not overwhelmed. Is that weird?

But sewing is a little different… I am not technically ready for the typical “big project” things like the hand-tailored jacket or drafting my own pant pattern. Nope, not yet.

Last year, I created a wardrobe for my nine-year-old daughter and it was a blast. I made two dresses, a skirt and top combo, a coat, and some cardigans. I kept them all in the same color palette so they could mix-and-match. The colors also meant I could buy her shoes, accessories and sweaters confidently since I knew what she had in her wardrobe. I got the idea from Simple Simon and Co., her collection was brilliant and inspiring!

It was so fun! All that fun I had inspired me to start this blog, actually.

But since I began this blog I’ve been sewing much more for me. So, it just makes sense to do a similar project with my own wardrobe. Selfish selfish sewing!

Me Made May is only a couple months away and, as it stands, I don’t think I could get through an entire month of wearing my own creations. A big hole that I need to address is how things in my handmade wardrobe go together. I make stuff with no thought to how it will fit with everything else. This project will intentionally deal with that problem.

The Plan is to make 13 pieces.

  • 5 tops
  • 4 bottoms- 2 skirts and 2 pants
  • 2 dresses
  • 2 jackets

colorsSmallColor story – navy, gray, white, and pink

These pieces (in theory) should be able to work together to make at least 25 different looks. If I can include some of my other hand mades into my month, that has me covered for the Me Made May challenge. I do need to finish a project and  half a week, but that is just the kick in the butt I need, anyway.

Tomorrow I’ll post my fabric and pattern selections. Isn’t looking through your stash and perhaps purchasing a piece of fabric or two one of the funnest parts? It was for me!

If you also need to gear up for Me Made May this year and want to join in the fun, I made a blog button (code in my sidebar) for you to use if you’d like. Let me know in the comments if you are joining me so I can follow along with your project, too!

6 thoughts on “Gear Up for Me Made May ’14 Project

  1. Sounds like a good plan. I should plan too. My wardrobe is getting a bit haphazard and my ready to wear is not going to last too long with the Ready to Wear fast I’m on. Thanks for putting this out early.

  2. Your plan sounds awesome and I’m sort of doing the same thing so it’s cool that now I have a gearing up buddy! I hope to add at least 11 new pieces to my wardrobe by May.

  3. You are so smart to plan. I have followed others last May and was hoping to join in this year. I would need to make some successful pants to replace the jeans I am in most days, Maybe I will join you and use your button.

Leave a comment! I love comments!

