New Presidio Purse from Seamstress Erin

Lucky me! I got to pattern test for Seamstress Erin’s brand new purse pattern last month and now I get to share.presidioPurse1

This big, roomy beauty is the Presidio Purse. Check it out! It has a unique shape, a wide handle that connects with rectangular D rings, an internal zipper and separated pocket, and best of all, it is very large. Large and in charge!  PresidioPurse6

Now, normally I would not be so unwise as to take on a project like this during the Christmas season. The blog has been silent for a few weeks as I prepared for a big trip, took said trip, and returned and recovered from said trip. But actually, this pattern was perfect for a handmade gift for my sweet sister-in-law for Christmas. And the testing window made sure I would complete it before the holiday. Thank you, Erin. Without the deadline I might have procrastinated and stressed out about it!

I especially love the professional looking zipper end cover and how the handle attaches to the purse. She also has a very clever way of sandwiching the zipper between the bag and the lining that was explained clearly and turned out very well.

PresidioPurse5It was fun to make and easy to test, and I think it turned out beautifully. The fabric is an upholstery designer remnant from Pacific Fabrics. As I pressed it I realized it is a silk blend (judging from that familiar silk smell) and has such a lovely sheen. I lined it in periwinkle silk charmeuse because purple is Christina’s favorite color. So custom and fancy.

PresidioPurse7

Presidio-Purse-Pattern-Cover_Cover-Page

The pattern includes these cute gathered insets on the corners that I omitted because it wouldn’t work with my fabric choice (didn’t want to disturb those stripes) but I think would be so fun to try. I may have to make it again for myself. Check out the other versions at Seamstress Erin’s Flickr Pool.

Though it was hard to give away after I saw how lovely the finished product turned out, my sister-in-law really loved it. She’s the best person to give gifts to because she is so enthusiastic. It was very gratifying!

Guess what? I love pattern testing! And this is a great pattern. Thanks, Erin!

presidiopurse4 copy

14 thoughts on “New Presidio Purse from Seamstress Erin

  1. Pingback: Pattern Testing the Presidio Purse | Sew Well

Leave a comment! I love comments!

