K is for Knit Kardigans

cardigan3The letter “K” really filled a whole in my daughter’s wardrobe. She only wears dresses and skirts, but it is cold and dark so much of the time here in Seattle (hence the name of this blog) so she needs another layer. Well, sweatshirts are not acceptable to her fancy-style tastes. I have bought them, and she has poo-poo’d them. But cardigans are just fancy enough. Phew!

cardigan2I really enjoyed Peek-a-boo pattern shop’s V-neck Cardigan. I like how they print each size line in a different color! The instructions are clear and easy to follow, too. And the size range is awesome! I’ll be able to use this pattern for both my girls for years to come. Quite a bargain!

B&Wcardigan1This first one in maroon is pretty basic, but it will really match quite a few things in her closet, and at least it has pink buttons. But the black and white one I love! I saw a cardigan in the same print at a little boutique in women’s sizes, so it was easy to imagine it in a size 10. But the trim I FOUND in my scrap bin and it ended up being perfect!

B&Wcardigan3Sometimes I berate myself for waffling and going through my stash over and over again to see all the possibilities when I really should just get down to sewing. But this time it really paid off! I had totally forgot about that little knit piece I made a scarf out of years ago. Yay!

I used a zig zag stitch to mimic the chevron pattern

I used a zig zag stitch to mimic the chevron pattern

My alphabet sewing has been spotty, but I am happy to report I am back in business and have a plan for the next few letters. Thanks so much to No Big Dill for the link ups!

125

 

8 thoughts on “K is for Knit Kardigans

  1. I’m guessing the black and white is a knit fabric. Is the pink a fine polarfleece? They look really good. Certainly makes me wonder if some of the fleece I keep walking past has more potential than I’ve realised. 🙂

    • The black and white is a velour type fabric and the pink is a cotton knit. But I think microfleece would work well, since it has a bit of stretch to it. Cardigans don’t have to be too stretchy, actually. I’m afraid the less stable cotton knit is going to stretch out eventually with my daughter’s hard wearing of it.

  2. Pingback: O is for Owl Dress | grayallday

  3. Pingback: Gear Up for Me Made May ’14 Project | grayallday

Leave a comment! I love comments!

