Orange Piped Dress

orangepiped1

What drove me to this make?

I loved this quilting flannel as soon as I saw it on the remnant table. There was only 1 1/4 yards left so I imagined a simple dress where I wouldn’t have to cut the big bold flowers up.  And piping! A simple dress is fine, but at least let’s have some piping!

Little front pleats!

Little front pleats!

PatternSimplicity 1890, A Project Runway pattern

Wins Losses
-the subtle pattern on the piping makes it unique-It is made of flannel and we will be able to layer under it for school when it’s cold (9 months of the year) -my piping is made from rope found in the hardware section, so it a little less flexible than I’d like
rope makes slightly too rigid of piping

rope makes slightly too rigid of piping

 What I learned

  • I need lightweight nylon cord for my custom piping
  • Though I hate to do things twice, basting the piping made me more confident when sewing the seams together

orangepiped5
125

One thought on “Orange Piped Dress

Leave a comment! I love comments!

